Eastern Europe Destinations:
Western & Central Europe Destinations:
Car Hire/Flights/Travel Guide/Contacts:
Photo Galleries:
Travel Articles on the Netherlands
Featured Hotels in the Netherlands:
Self-Catering Accommodation:
Small Hotels & Bed & Breakfasts:
Rotterdam Hotels  /  The Hague Hotels  /  Return to Travel Articles

Zuid Holland   by Elizabeth Morgan

Zuid Holland is the Dutch word for South Holland. Zuid Holland is a province of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. It is situated on the North Sea coast in the west of the country. Zuid Holland has Zeeland to its southwest and North Barbant to the southeast. It is flanked on the east by Gelderland, North Holland to the north and Utrecht to the northeast.

One of main cities in Netherland, Hague is situated in the province of Zuid Holland. It holds the seat of the Dutch government known as Den Haag and also the seat of the International Court of Justice, Gravenhage. The other famous cities in the province are Gouda, Rotterdam, Leiden and Delft. Most of these cities have very conventional town centers. Many traditionally constructed 17th-century buildings grace these cities and are a beautiful sight. Some of the new towns in this province are Capelle aan den Ijssel, Hellevoetsluis and Spijkenisse. These three modern towns are situated near Rotterdam, which is the largest harbor in the world. The city of Zoetermeer in Zuid Holland was founded in the year 1970. This region has five rivers. They are NieuveMaas, Nieuwe Waterweg, Oude Maas, Haringvliet and Hollands Diep. The province of South Holland was formed in 1840, when Holland was split into the northern and southern parts.

Zuid Holland is divided into 86 municipalities. Zuid Holland is one of the most densely populated areas in Holland. It is also highly industrialized. South Holland is one of the regions categorized by the International Organization of Standardization, under a world region code system. It has the code ISO 3166-2:NL.

Oudewater, Woerden, and Vianen were the three municipalities that South Holland ceded to the province of Utrecht. They were handed over in the years 1970, 1989 and 2002 respectively. The municipalities of De Lier, 's-Gravenzande, Monster, Naaldwijk and Wateringen have been merged into a new municipality, Westland. Maasland and Schipluiden have been merged into Midden-Delfland. It is expected that the provinces of Sassenheim, Voorhoot and Warmond will be merged in the future into a single province called Teylingen.

Zuid Holland is famed all over Europe as a holiday destination because it combines old world European flavor with a modern spirit.

Rotterdam Hotels  /  The Hague Hotels  /  Return to Travel Articles


About the Author - Travel Holland provides detailed information on Travel Holland, Holland, Zuid Holland, Noord Holland and more. Travel Holland is affiliated with Greece Flights.

Netherlands Home Page

Western & Central Europe

| Home Page | Andorra | Austria | Belgium | Cyprus | Denmark | England | Finland | France| Germany | GreeceIceland  | Ireland | Italy | Luxembourg | Malta | Monaco | Netherlands | Norway | Portugal | Scotland | Spain | Sweden | Switzerland | Wales |

Eastern Europe

 | Bosnia and Herzegovina | Bulgaria | Croatia | Czech Republic | Estonia | Hungary | Latvia | Lithuania | Macedonia | Poland | Romania | Russia | Slovak Republic | Slovenia | Ukraine | Yugoslavia |

Copyright © All Europe Accommodation

Latest update: May 10, 2012